Opening Lines

Here are a few of my favorite opening lines from some of my favorite books. I would tattoo them onto my fleshy arms if I could.

 (1). “I am doomed to remember a boy with a wrecked voice – not because of his voice, or because he was the smallest person I ever knew, or even because he was the instrument of my mother’s death, but because he is the reason I believe in God; I am a Christian because of Owen Meany.”  – A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving

(2). “For more than two hundred years, the Owens women have been blamed for everything that has gone wrong in town.  – Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman

 (3). ”There was a hand in the darkness, and it held a knife.”  – The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

 (4). “The human head is the same approximate size and weight as a roaster chicken.”  – Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach

 (5). “It was a queer, sultry summer, the summer they electrocuted the Rosenbergs, and I didn’t know what I was doing in New York.”  – The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

 (6). “My mother is standing in front of the bathroom mirror smelling polished and ready; like Jean Nate, Dippity Do and the waxy sweetness of lipstick.”  – Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs

(7). “I wake to the drone of an airplane engine and the feeling of something warm dripping down my chin.”  – A Million Little Pieces by James Frey

Leave a Reply

